2018 Award Winners

Thanks to the juries and to all who submitted films and work to the festival. Keep your eye on the newsletter where we will announce when we open for entries in 2019.

Winners of the 2018 Manchester Animation Festival are:

Best Short Film

Winner: Bloeistraat 11 by Nienke Deutz

The jury said this film is “A genuine portrayal of the confusing age of adolescence, using a strikingly original and subtle style.”

Special mention: Egg

The jury said it is a “A powerful film that helps you begin to understand a very complicated condition.”

Audience Award

Winner: Facing It by Sam Gainsborough

Voted for by the audience at Manchester Animation Festival 2018.

Best Student Film

Winner: Travelogue Tel Aviv by Samuel Patthey

The jury admired how the film “Celebrated the energy of an intriguing city through its wonderfully free style.”

Special mention: Somewhere Soft

The jury said it was “A sincere, delicate film exploring the fragility of love with powerful impact”

Best Immersive Film

Winner: Back to the Moon By FX Goby & Helene LeRoux

The jury said this film “Perfectly uses the technology of VR to transport you into the magical world of Méliès.”

Best Commissioned Film

Winner: Mark of a Free Society by Robert Grieves

The jury said this film is: “A great use of animation, providing an important reminder in these confusing times…”

Industry Excellence Award: Scriptwriting 

Winner: Daniel Postgate for The Clangers: The Block

Industry Excellence Award: Storyboarding

Winner: Vince James for 70 MPH Tales: Jack and the Beanstalk

Industry Excellence Award: Character Design

Winner: Leigh Hodgkinson for Olobob Top

Industry Excellence Award: Character Animation

Winner: Fabrice Pieton for The Clangers