2019 Award Winners Announced!

We’re delighted to announce the winners of our Film Awards and Industry Excellence Awards for 2019 following our official ceremony hosted by the legend that is Barry Purves on Thurs 14th November.

Victorious in the category for Best Short Film was the powerful and haunting cut out and stop motion Canadian film, Girl in the Hallway directed by Valerie Barnhart with a Special Mention going to Sweet Night, a Belgian digital 2D short directed by Lia Bertels.

Girl in the Hallway

The winner of Best Student Film was the compelling and thought-provoking Border Line, a traditional 2D film directed by Megan Earls with a Special Mention going to The Stained Club, a French CGI film directed by a team made up of Mélanie Lopez, Simon Boucly, Marie Ciesielski, Alice Jaunet, Chan Stéphie Peang and Béatrice Viguier.

Border Line

Judged to be the Best Comissioned Film was Do I See What You See? a short film, directed by Simon Ball about the experiences of people living with Posterior Cortical Atrophy (PCA), a rare form of dementia which affects the visual areas of the brain with a Special Mention going to the Australian short, Accents directed by Robertino Zambrano.

Do I See What You See

Winning the award for Best Immersive Film was Gymnasia, the Canadian stop motion horror containing no dialogue directed by Chris Lavis & Maciek Szczerbowski.


Audience Award went to Travel Oregon: Only Slightly (More) Exaggerated, the second part of the vibrant animated campaign directed by Kylie Matulick & Todd Mueller for Travel Oregon by Wieden & Kennedy Portland designed to give viewers more of a creative glimpse of the magical feeling of being in Oregon.

Travel Oregon Only Slightly (more) Exaggerated

With the Industry Excellence Awards we celebrate all of the people who work hard on the day job scripting, storyboarding, designing and animating some of our favourite television programmes and commercial work.

The winner of the Award for Storyboarding was Max Loubaresse for 101 Dalmatian Street

101 Dalmatian Street

from Passion Animation Studios and the Award for Scriptwriting was taken home by Greg Levine for Littlest Pet Shop: Fetch the Story Stick from Boulder Media

Littlest Pet Shop

The Award for Character Design was won by Agnes Lecreux for Dimitri and a Fun Surprise

Dimitri and a Fun Surprise

The Award for Character Animation went to Mark Nute for Bluey.

Mark Nute, winner of the Industry Excellence Award for Character Animation and Ian Mackinnon from Mackinnon and Saunders

The fifth edition of Manchester Animation Festival took place on the 10-14 November and saw a huge 22% increase in delegates attending the event at HOME in Manchester. The festival was proceeded by an academic conference hosted by University of Salford and a family day totalling 5 back to back days of animation.

Thank you to the Juries of the Film and Industry Excellence Award competitions and for everyone who voted for the Audience Award. MAF will return in November 2020.